This is the "Databases" page of the "Databases" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Databases  

Last Updated: Feb 29, 2016 URL: http://saintraymondacademy.libguides.com/content.php?pid=427791 Print Guide RSS Updates
Databases Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Grolier Online

User Name = nystate1359

Password = novelhome

     

    Directory of Open Access Journals

     

    Chronicling America

    Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1836-1922 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.

     

    Databases

    A database is a sevice that provides access to a large amount of information.  Because the information has been written and compiled by experts, it is much better to use for school assignments than Google.  Databases can only be used with subscriptions.  Because of this, they often have user names and passwords.  The links below are the databases that SRA subscribes to.  There are also links to the databases available through the New York Public Library.  Make sure you enter the necessary user name and password.

     

    Googe Scholar

    Google Scholar

    Make sure you never pay for anything on Google Scholar.  If you can't find the Full-Text version, get the citation information and then try one of the subscription databases.

     

    World Digital Library

    The World Digital Library (WDL) makes available on the Internet, free of charge and in multilingual format, significant primary materials from countries and cultures around the world.

     

    TV News Archive

    Search closed captions of US TV News Shows.  View clips from 695,00 news programs since 2009.

     

    Digital Public Library of America

    explore 10,001,078 items from libraries, archives, and museums

     

    Gale Databases

    Password=empirelink

     

    Opposing Viewpoints

     

    Pro Con

    Provides pros and cons of controversial issues

     

    NYPL Databases

    You must have a valid public library card and pin to use these databases.

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip